What are the Ten Commandments?

God gave the Ten Commandments, a list of laws for His people to follow in their relationships with Him and others, to Moses on Mt. Sinai after He rescued the Israelites from slavery in Egypt. The Ten Commandments are given in two places. They’re given in Exodus 20 and in Deuteronomy 5.

From Exodus 20, here are the Ten Commandments – summarized and then referenced by each specific verse.

  1. I am the Lord your God. You shall have no other gods before Me (Exodus 20:2-3).
  2. You shall not make for yourself a carved image [an idol] (Exodus 20:4-6).
  3. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain (Exodus 20:7).
  4. Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy (Exodus 20:8-11).
  5. Honor your father and your mother (Exodus 20:12).
  6. You shall not murder (Exodus 20:13).
  7. You shall not commit adultery (Exodus 20:14).
  8. You shall not steal (Exodus 20:15).
  9. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor (Exodus 20:16).
  10. You shall not covet your neighbor’s house… nor anything that is your neighbor’s (Exodus 20:17).